Lois McMaster Bujold: Essays on a Modern Master of Science Fiction and Fantasy by Janet Brennan Croft (editor)

Lois McMaster Bujold: Essays on a Modern Master of Science Fiction and FantasyLois McMaster Bujold: Essays on a Modern Master of Science Fiction and Fantasy by Janet Brennan Croft

My rating: 3 of 5 stars (7/10)
Read: 25 November 2016 – 2 June 2017

This proved to be a combination of the interesting and the overly-academic.

Some of these essays were either specifically written for academic journals and published here later, or written by writers who liked big, topic-specific words and dense and convoluted text. Essentially, it was too much work to “translate” the text to everyday language my brain could digest. After struggling through the first, I skipped the latter ones like this.

The rest were written in a much more “everyday” style and those I thoroughly enjoyed. The Vorkosigan ones were good, but I had already considered or discussed on mailing lists a lot of what was covered. I found the essays covering the Chalion and Wide Green World books a lot more fascination as they introduced new ideas I hadn’t necessarily thought about before or, especially in the case of the Chalion ones, introduced me to the real world parallels in more details than I had been before.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

