Women of Futures Past by Kristine Kathryn Rusch (editor)

Women of Futures Past: Classic StoriesWomen of Futures Past: Classic Stories by Kristine Kathryn Rusch

My rating: 4 of 5 stars (9/10)
Read: 25 May 2017 – 26 May 2017

I heard about this one when it came out and thought it looked interesting, but I had read a number of the stories and, to be honest, it was a bit more expensive than I wanted to pay.

It came to mind again in the last couple of weeks and when I check the price had dropped, so I bought it. In the end, I only skipped one – Lois McMaster Bujold‘s “Aftermaths”, which is a great story, but one I have read several times before. The others, I’d only read once.

I enjoyed all the stories, both the rereads and the new ones. Kristine Katherine Rusch‘s introductions, both to the anthology and to the individual stories, were very interesting and well worth reading. I feel I understand some of the early women writers of SF a little better now and it’s good to have read work from some of the more modern authors who I know all about, but hadn’t necessarily read.

My favourite new read from the book was C J Cherryh‘s “Cassandra” and my favourite reread was probably “Fire Watch” by Connie Willis (I want to go and reread To Say Nothing of the Dog now, with Zenna Henderson‘s “The Indelible Kind” a close second.

I highly recommend this anthology as a good taster of some of the women who have been writing SF since the 1930s, and if, like I did, you think to miss it because you’ve read a number of the stories, I found the rereads to be just as lovely as the new reads.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

