The Ivy Tree by Mary Stewart

The Ivy TreeThe Ivy Tree by Mary Stewart

My rating: 4 of 5 stars (9/10)
Read: 4 September 2016 – 31 March 2017

I have a funny relationship with this book. It was a school friend’s absolute favourite Mary Stewart book and I’ve always wanted to love it because of that. But I really struggle with the first half. I think it’s all the various deception that is going on. Once that comes to a head, around the halfway point, it all kicks into gear and I love it.

That’s exactly what happened on this reread. I struggled and stumbled through the first part, leaving it for months at a time. Then I finally got past the difficult part and I zoomed through to the end in a few days, loving it after all, which is why it gets a high grade. But all the same, over all it took me 6 months to read it.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

