Just One Damned Thing After Another by Jodi Taylor

Just One Damned Thing After Another (The Chronicles of St Mary's, #1)Just One Damned Thing After Another by Jodi Taylor

My rating: 3 of 5 stars (7/10)
Read: 15 May 2017 – 17 May 2017

I blame my friend Jacqui for this one. She’s been suggesting I read it for ages. It was cheap on Amazon a while back, so I bought it and it’s been sitting on my Kindle since then.

I finished American Gods and wanted something light and quick to read. This was the first one that caught my eye as I browsed my “new books” collection. I started of skeptical, largely because of the way other people had told me I should love it, but I was enjoying it by the end. I’ve moved from, “I don’t want to get caught up in a series that’s 9 books long” to “I have other things I need to read first, but I’d like to try the second some time”.

I’m not totally blown away, but I did enjoy the read.

View all my reviews

4 responses to this post.

  1. Well, it’s got a great title, at any rate! Sounds fun.

    Reply

  2. Well, it’s got a great title, at any rate! Sounds fun, perhaps similar in plot and tone to Connie Willis’ To Say Nothing of the Dog (one of my all-time favourite books).

    Reply

    • There’s definitely a To Say Nothing of the Dog flavour, also some similar ideas to aspects of Kage Baker’s Company series. I’m thinking I might try the next one on audio.

      Reply

  3. Posted by Kristen M. on 21st May, 2017 at 2:11 pm

    I should be getting this one soon from the library. I can’t remember how I heard of it. I think I was looking for something similar to the Shambling Guide books. I didn’t realize it was the start of a long series though. I hope I enjoy it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

