DWJ March: Eight Days of Luke

Kristen M. is hosting Diana Wynne Jones March again over at We Be Reading. I admit that I had forgotten until I went to Feedly to catch up on my blogs and there were the posts. Tuesday’s post was all about Eight Days of Luke, which is one of my favourite DWJ books.

I’m not up to making a new post, so I’m going to cheap and copy in my review from Goodreads from 2011. It’s a very good book. I recommend going to read it.

Eight Days Of LukeEight Days Of Luke by Diana Wynne Jones

My rating: 4 of 5 stars (aka 8/10)

It was either this book or Dogsbody that was my first Diana Wynne Jones novel, many, many years ago now. I no longer remember which one, and both have a special place in my heart and my memory.

I have been looking forward to rediscovering them both – and while both were published in 1975, Ms Wynne Jones’ offical fan site lists Eight Days of Luke first, so that’s the order I’m rereading.

I went into the book remembering the basics – who Luke was and that it was based on Norse mythology – but the details were missing and I found I remember less of the aforementioned Norse mythology that I used to do. I also wonder if it would have been more generally known in Britain in the 70’s than now in New Zealand in the 2010’s, since Astrid figured it all out pretty quickly, while I was still trying to remember what I could. (By the end, I felt I knew who everyone was except Mr Chew, who I shall look up when I get a moment. [ETA: A fact my 9 year old filled me in on when he read the book in 2013.])

I think Wynne Jones did a lovely job with Luke as a manifestation of you-know-who (I don’t want to have to spoiler lock this) as he’s appealing and you end up cheering for him, but there’s an awareness that he’s not exactly reliable either.

As for David, he’s a delight; not perfect (Wynne Jones’ characters never are) but a lovely portrayal of a realistic boy caught up in hugely unrealistic events. He’s a loyal friend to Luke (and indeed to Astrid as the story continues), and does his best to do the right thing. He’s smart without being obnoxiously so and I enjoyed sharing the adventure with him.

Diana Wynne Jones was a brilliant author who could write amazing stories for children without ever “writing down” to them, while making those stories just as great for adults as well. It is a great pity her works are not better known and the world is indeed that bit reduced by the fact she won’t be giving us any more stories.

If you haven’t read her books, do give them a try. If you have, enjoy a reread.

View all my reviews

One response to this post.

  1. If I have time this month, I think this will be one of my rereads. I feel like I didn’t get everything out of it the first time — and it’s just a fun story!

    I’m glad you’re catching up. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

