Once Upon a Time VII: The Journey

The Journey

Once again, Carl from Stainless Steel Droppings is hosting the Once Upon a Time reading challenge. He insists it isn’t really a challenge, but a chance to share reading fantasy, folklore, fairy tales and mythology. I love the idea, but I resisting setting myself large challenges these days. I’m trying to go with guidelines rather than rules, as a friend so eloquently put it for me.

So I’m signing up for The Journey. Carl describes that as:

This is really as simple as the name implies. It means you are participating, but not committing yourself to any specific number of books. By signing up for The Journey you are agreeing to read at least one book within one of the four categories during March 21st to June 21st period.Just one book. If you choose to read more, fantastic! If not, then we have still had the pleasure of your company during this three month reading journey and hopefully you have read a great book, met some interesting people, and enjoyed the various activities that occur during the challenge. It has always been of utmost importance to me that the challenges that I host be all about experiencing enjoyable literature and sharing it with others. I want you to participate. Hence, The Journey.

That sounds perfect for me. I’m sure I’ll read more than one book in that time. In fact, I’ll probably easily manage the five required for the Quest the First. All the same, I’m officially joining The Journey as a way to avoid the stress of a requirement. I will try to include reviews of the books I read that qualify so I can share my enjoyment with others.

4 responses to this post.

  1. I’ve been cutting down on my challenges this year, but Carl’s are really only “challenges,” totally stress-free…I hope you have fun with the Journey!

    Reply

  2. I;m a bit out of the loop when it comes to events at the moment. I will be signing up for this one though! And fortunately, the book I finished on the first day of the challenge is perfect for the challenge and so in theory I am done already!

    Reply

  3. Oh, what books are you considering? You know how you always tempt me…..please give a list of books you are considering! lol you have such great choices….I’m about to do my post, too. This is such a fun challenge 🙂 I love all the kinds of books we can read during it.

    Reply

  4. Susan, in all honesty I hadn’t thought of a book pool, but now you’ve mentioned it, it seems like such a good idea. Let me have a think and a look and my books and I’ll put up a new post with a list once I have one worked out.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

