Written in Red by Anne Bishop

Written in RedWritten in Red by Anne Bishop

My rating: 5 of 5 stars (aka 10/10)

Awesome start to a new series.

For anyone who is tired of all those same old-same old urban fantasy and paranormal books out there, this is the perfect antidote. Werewolves and vampires who are truly scary without needing to be evil. Even scarier creatures who again are unhuman rather than evil. Humans who are the minority in the world population and know it (but try to pretend they don’t). Lots of slowly developing relationships and even cautious friendships without romance tropes.

Meg was an wonderful character who did some of the sterotypical things of the genre (such as making the Others see at least some humans as people rather than prey; being the only one who can get through to the scared and damaged child; having special powers) but did them all in unique and non-stereotypical ways. She was awesome without being annoying.

Sam was adorable and the ponies were awesome. (I shall say no more about the ponies, but they are such a cool idea and introduced, then developed ever so well). Simon was also great but I can either write several paragraphs or leave it at that. It’s late and I’m going to leave it at that. Discover these characters for yourself.

I highly recommend this to pretty much anyone. While totally different from any of Anne Bishop’s other novels so far, this book still contains her trademark brilliance, world building and skill with character. If the idea of her writing urban fantasy had you shaking you her in uncertainty, take heart. This is as much a Bishop book as anything else she’s written and it’s just as good.

Ms Bishop has just (8 March 2013) announced that there will be a sequel, titled Murder of Crows that will be published in March 2014. I’m already counting down. For me, this series has gone from “try the first book as an ebook to see what it’s like” to “automatic buy in hardcover for the collection and ebook for reading”.

View all my reviews

3 responses to this post.

  1. So glad you enjoyed it!

    Reply

  2. I have to get this!!! I read her earlier trilogy and loved it, so long ago now. This one sounds so good. I think I even saw it in the store today, but my mind was on other things. Darn, I’ll have to go back! lol

    And you are so right, just seeing the word paranormal makes me turn away now, I don’t want the usual, I want the realistic (thus Patricia Briggs Mercy Thompson is one of my favourite series). Love this review, Kerry. Thanks 🙂

    Reply

  3. I loved her earlier books but I have dropped off her over the last few years. Not because I made a decision to but just because it happened. I didn’t even realise that there was a new series out! Need to get back on the Anne Bishop bandwagon.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

