Taking Charge of ADHD by Russell A. Barkley

Taking Charge of ADHD: The Complete, Authoritative Guide for ParentsTaking Charge of ADHD: The Complete, Authoritative Guide for Parents by Russell A. Barkley

My rating: 3 of 5 stars (6/10)

I only read the first half of this, but since it was the part I wanted to read, I’m going ahead and calling his one “read” rather than a “did not finish”.

The information in here on ADHD was both fascinating and depressing at time. I learned some things I didn’t know and others I hope my son escapes. But information is always a good thing to have, I figure, and the more I know, hopefully the better I can help my son.

I skimmed the second half, which was behaviour ideas etc. Most of what would work for us, we’re implementing already, so I decided to return it to the library without reading that section.

Some my conclusion was helpful but kind of depressing as the parent of a child with ADHD, which I suspect has biased my rating and made it lower than perhaps the book deserves..

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

