The Firebird by Susanna Kearsley

The FirebirdThe Firebird by Susanna Kearsley

My rating: 4 of 5 stars (9/10)

I’ve just finished this and found it to be another lovely, lovely book by Susanna Kearsley. I think I still liked The Shadowy Horses a little better (although seeing Robbie all grown up was every so lovely) and I loved The Winter Sea to pieces.

As I was reading, I really wasn’t sure if I liked it so much or not. The linking of the historical story and the modern one seemed a little forced, as much as I really liked the characters. However, as the story reached it’s conclusion it all came together just right to make a story I loved. I’m definitely now a Kearsley fangirl.

I read this on the Kindle and as the percentage read crept closer and closer to 100% I began to worry how the author was going to pull all the pieces together, especially to keep a promise made to Anna as a child. I didn’t pick the twist at all relating to a certain character’s identity (although I feel stupid now that I didn’t) but it made it all work beautifully in the end.

I do hope Robbie and Nicola went and told the whole story to Margaret Ross, and she got to both keep the Firebird and sell those books for her cruise. I’m figuring they did and she did.

View all my reviews

2 responses to this post.

  1. Apparently not many people have picked the identity, but when you look back you can see that it all makes sense!

    Reply

  2. Well, that makes me feel better. It’s so obvious in retrospect, but I never considered it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

