Brother to Dragons, Companion to Owls by Jane Lindskold

Brother to Dragons, Companion to OwlsBrother to Dragons, Companion to Owls by Jane Lindskold

My rating: 5 of 5 stars (10/10)

Wonderful, wonderful, amazing, awesome book.

I read this book many, many years ago and had a very good emotional memory of it, even if I didn’t remember the specifics beyond the two-headed dragon, “crazy” Sarah and talking inanimate objects. Really, that’s enough. Add in the beautiful, poetic title and surely it has to be a winner.

Of course, memory can lie, or at least soften the edges. Not to mention that the passing of time can date and change one’s reaction to a book. Jo Walton at Tor.com calls it having the “suck fairy” visit; that a book one loved in the past can suffer from growing up, growing technology, growing understanding of the errors of the past.

I am very happy to report that Brother to Dragons, Companion to Owls has not suffered in the least. Possibly, if anything, I appreciate it more now than I did at 25 or so. I’m older, I’m wiser, I’m the mother of a child with issues of his own (if mild ones), and I think perhaps this book talks to me even more now than it did then.

It also helps that the “near future” that Lindskold created for her book still works as a “day after tomorrow” as well now as it did when the book was originally published in 1994. For a first book, it is amazing. It’s creative, and poetic, and strong and inventive. Sarah is an amazing character and I still love her and Betwixt and Between to pieces. Maybe if I ever make another soft toy dragon, it will have to have two heads.

I cannot recommend this book enough. Go, find it, read it. You won’t regret it.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

