Dragonsinger by Anne McCaffrey

Dragonsinger (Harper Hall, #2)Dragonsinger by Anne McCaffrey

My rating: 4 of 5 stars (8/10)

It was lovely to get back to Menolly and finish off her first story, since Dragonsong is in a way only half a book. That’s the story of how Menolly gets to the Harper Hall, while this is the story of how she finds her place there and sets herself up for the future we will see, if as a side character, in later books.

On this reread, I find myself thinking that Dragonsong is a stronger book. The emotion is more powerful and it’s a much more personal, perhaps because I felt I was deeper inside Menolly’s head in that one than this.

All the same, this is a lovely book as Menolly learns she is worthwhile and wanted and that her talent is something to share and of which to be proud.

I am loving my read/reread of Anne McCaffrey’s books, both the Pern books and the others as well. They tend not to be hugely complicated, but there is something both charming and very comfortable about them. I hope, even as the years continue to go by, that there will always be a place for them with younger readers, not just the old ones like me that first read these books when they were young.

View all my reviews

4 responses to this post.

  1. Lovely review – that’s just how I feel about them. Have you read any of the books by her son?

    Reply

  2. I read the first couple of co-written books, but they weren’t as good and I really felt that in many ways the story was wrapped up with The Skies of Pern, so I stopped. I don’t think I’ve read any of the ones he wrote on his own.

    Reply

  3. the harper hall trilogy are as good as the dragonriders trilogy!!! and I agree with you that Todd McCaffrey took the planet and dragons and people in a much different way than Anne did and I gave up on his books also… I am just glad I can reread all the ones that Anne did write and never loose touch with Pern, the people and the dragons

    Reply

  4. Posted by cforber on 8th March, 2013 at 11:01 am

    I loved the early Pern books, including the Harper Hall trilogy. Reread them every few years. I also love Anne’s Crystal Singer trilogy.

    Just sent you a friend request on GoodReads – looks like we have a lot in common in our taste in books.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

