Borrower of the Night by Elizabeth Peters

Borrower of the Night (Vicky Bliss, #1)Borrower of the Night by Elizabeth Peters
My rating: 3 of 5 stars (aka 6/10)

I hate to admit it, because it may get me lynched, but I could never get into the Amelia Peabody books. I’ve read the first three and started off really excited to read the series, that so many people had told me was so good. But it never really clicked with me.

All the same, I had been told by so many people how good Elizabeth Peters’ book were that when I saw the first Vicky Bliss book on special for Kindle at Amazon, I bought it. As do so many of the books I buy, it then languished in the Amazon cloud (in this case, for about 16 months) while I got around to reading it.

Further proof that it’s a method for choosing books that works for me, I started reading this one because it came up on the random number generator.

I enjoyed the story all right, but I have to admit that this story didn’t really do it for me either. The puzzle was interesting, and I kept reading to find out what was going on – although I was more interested in the historical mystery than the current day one (“current” being the 1970s). However, I wasn’t particularly enamoured of any of the characters, including Vicky.

There was something about her that grated with me, and I’m not even sure what it was. The undercurrent of “woe is me for being so beautiful and tall and strong and clever” didn’t help, being someone who is neither beautiful, nor tall, nor strong and due to brain dysfunction, not even as clever as I used to be. I found the “whose better, woman or man?” sparring, while probably topical for original publication date of 1973 just to be annoying.

I wasn’t bowled over by the prose; it was perfectly adequate, but it didn’t grab me and drag me along. I kept checking how far through the book I was to see if I was almost at the point where the mysteries would be revealed. That, combined with the fact I didn’t really like any of the characters at all, means I’m afraid this is another Elizabeth Peters series that has proved not to be my thing. I’m not planning to continue the series, which is kind of disappointing, but I’m not at all sorry I gave it a go.

View all my reviews

4 responses to this post.

  1. […] Elizabeth – Borrower of the Night […]

    Reply

  2. […] « Borrower of the Night by Elizabeth Peters […]

    Reply

  3. I really like the Amelia Peabody books but the Vicky Bliss ones didn’t work as well for me really.

    Reply

  4. I’ve never managed much more than the first three Amelia Peabody books myself – I think it’s because of Ramses, who is SUCH an annoying brat, and who’s treated so very indulgently by the author. I really enjoyed the Vicky Bliss books, but handicapped myself by reading the fifth one first, and only much later getting around to reading the rest. I’ve also really enjoyed the first three Jacqueline Kirby books and her standalones.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

