Captain Vorpatril’s Alliance by Lois McMaster Bujold

Captain Vorpatril's AllianceCaptain Vorpatril’s Alliance by Lois McMaster Bujold
My rating: 5 of 5 stars (aka 10/10)

I’m not up to a review, so some quick notes.

– Loved this.
– A slow build which seemed odd in a “Vorkosigan” novel, until I remembered it was an Ivan novel and realised it was just right.
– By setting the book earlier than the one before, there was a nagging worry right through that (view spoiler)[Ivan and Tej might not stay married because we didn’t know he was married in CryoBurn (hide spoiler)] but it was managed perfectly.
– I really liked the way absolutely nothing here was contradicted by CryoBurn, but because that one wasn’t set on Barrayar, even the dramatic fate of ImpSec HQ was still new and a surprise.
– I doubt anything will ever match the dinner party in A Civil Campaign, but the one in here was pretty awesome all the same.
– I loved the way Ivan’s (“I don’t have claustrophobia’) claustrophobia was included and handled.
– What happened to ImpSec HQ (I will not spoil it for you) was such an amazing visual (and yet, again, no hint of it in Cryoburn but it still fits).
– If I had rated this immediately after finishing it, I would probably have given it 9/10, but it grew on me as the days went by and I absorbed the full story. It matched Ivan ever so well.
– I liked that Ivan was both smarter than he lets on and “Ivan, you idiot” at the same time.
– Lady Alys at the memorial for Padma and all the pent up emotion behind it was wonderful.
– Tej’s mental names for Miles (The Coz), Gregor (The Gregor) and Aral (annoyingly, I can’t remember it exactly) were great.

All, it all, another excellent book in the series. Many thanks Lois.

View all my reviews

5 responses to this post.

  1. […] Lois McMaster – Captain Vorpatril’s Alliance […]

    Reply

  2. IIRC, Tej did not meet Aral during the book. I just did a quick search, and the only references are Aral, Uncle Aral, or Aral Vorkosigan’s Dog.

    Reply

  3. Okay. I was going from memory (which isn’t that great) and while I know she didn’t meet him (I hope she did at some point between this book and Cryoburn) I thought she’d thought about him and given him a mental name too. I guess I didn’t. Thanks for that.

    Reply

  4. […] Captain Vorpatril’s Alliance by Lois McMaster Bujold […]

    Reply

  5. Posted by cforber on 8th March, 2013 at 11:09 am

    I hope it isn’t her last in the Vorkosigan series, but if it is, she ended on a high note! I really enjoyed it. Not up to the best in the series, but better than the last couple, in my personal opinion.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

