2005 books added to Goodreads

I’ve just finishing transferring my 2005 reads from Library Thing over to Goodreads. It’s an interesting experience, seeing what I thought of different books seven years ago. Most, I feel I would still feel the same about today, but there are some where I think better of them in hindsight and some where I wonder why I thought as highly of them as I did at the time.

It turns out I read 72 books in 2005. This surprised me as I expected it to be higher. In the last three years, even with health issues, I’ve read about 100 each year, and I’ve read 70 so far this year. But I did read some long books (the longest was Pandora’s Star at 1,144 pages, Goodreads is helpfully telling me) and I did have a one year old, so maybe it’s not so surprising after all.

In fact, I’ve just discovered that if I change the stats to show pages read, I read 28,532 pages in 2005, while this year, even though I’m only two books behind, thus far I’ve only read 17,480 pages, which is actually a lot less. (Although, having just typed that, I realise that I have no idea if or how ebooks are calculated in those numbers, so it may or may not be a valid statistic. I read way more ebooks now than I did in 2005.)

I don’t know how this graphic will show up on the blog page, but if you click on it, it should take you to the full size one. Thanks Goodreads for some interesting (if ultimately trivial) statistics.

2005 Reading Statistics from Goodreads

I see I rated 9 books as 10/10 and with hindsight, there are probably four of those I’d question these days. But this isn’t about now, but what I thought at the time. My favourites from those 9 would be The Hallowed Hunt by Lois McMaster Bujold and the short story Originally Human by Eileen Wilks, which I read again this year when it came out as an ebook short and loved all over again. I’ve never reread The Hallowed Hunt, but I’d like to one day if I ever get the chance.

Leave a Reply

