Officially giving up

Her Some Rose Up Forever

I’m officially giving up on James Tiptree Jr’s Her Smoke Rose Up Forever. This is not because it’s a bad book, but because at this point in my life I simply can’t take the depressing-ness of it. I’m going to put it away on the bookcase, but leave a bookmark in that, so that when I (hopefully) go back to it in the future I’ll know what I’ve read and what I haven’t.

I’m very glad to have read some Tiptree, but the book is just taunting me from my bedroom bookshelf at the moment. “Ha! You’re scared of me and I’m still here with a bookmark in me, which means you should finish me!”.

Maybe one day, but this is just not the right point in my life.

Discount Armageddon

On a happier note, I’ve managed to get reading again on Discount Armageddon by Seanan McGuire. I was rolling along, enjoying it, when I got to the point when the characters did something really stupid. I never cope with that kind of thing well and I put it down. It’s taken me ages to pick it back up, but I have now, I’m past that bit and I hope to read on steadily to the end now.

Leave a Reply

