To Ride Pegasus by Anne McCaffrey

To Ride PegasusTo Ride Pegasus by Anne McCaffrey

My rating: 3 of 5 stars (aka 6/10)

Just quickly, I thought this one had dated worse than a lot of the others.

I still really liked the first story, but the one I remember as a favourite, A Womanly Talent, I found problematic and annoying. The basic idea – using TK to manipulate genes and proteins at a microscopic level – remain very clever, but I found the way it was done to be patronising (or at least, that’s the closed word I’ve come up with). Ruth, meant to be a sympathetic character, came across as annoying and while I can’t really explain what exactly was wrong with it, the whole story put my hackles up. I still totally love Dorotea though, and if you’re planning to read the later Talent stories, it’s worth reading this one just to find out about her.

I’m not sorry for the reread, but I don’t think this is one of McCaffrey’s best.

View all my reviews

3 responses to this post.

  1. […] READ Own in paper, […]

    Reply

  2. […] To Ride Pegasus – Anne McCaffrey (6/10) […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

