Started, The Broken Kingdoms

Wow, I actually finished a book and put up some comments. Much as I would like it to be a more regular thing, don’t hold your breath.

So I wasn’t totally blown away by The False Prince, but I did enjoy it all the same. I just wish it hadn’t taken me quite so long to read. Right now, I want to read the next one, but I’ll see how I feel when the book actually comes out.

And talking of books coming out, the first book in N. K. Jemisin’s new duology, The Killing Moon, comes out today. I have it on preorder from Amazon, and considering I haven’t even read the second book in her first trilogy, I decided that made today a good day to start it.

The Broken Kingdoms

The Broken Kingdoms

N. K. Jemisin

The gods have broken free after centuries of slavery, and the world holds its breath, fearing their vengeance. The saga of mortals and immortals continues in THE BROKEN KINGDOMS. In the city of Shadow, beneath the World Tree, alleyways shimmer with magic and godlings live hidden among mortalkind. Oree Shoth, a blind artist, takes in a homeless man who glows like a living sun to her strange sight. This act of kindness engulfs Oree in a nightmarish conspiracy. Someone, somehow, is murdering godlings, leaving their desecrated bodies all over the city. Oree’s peculiar guest is at the heart of it, his presence putting her in mortal danger — but is it him the killers want, or Oree? And is the earthly power of the Arameri king their ultimate goal, or have they set their sights on the Lord of Night himself?

(blurb from Goodreads.com)

Leave a Reply

