Starting Fire and Hemlock

I know it isn’t the next book in my Diana Wynne Jones Author Read (it isn’t even close – I’m actually 10 books away), but Kristen over at We Be Reading is having a Read-Along for Fire and Hemlock and as I have very fond memories of this one, I couldn’t wait to join in. It technically started a few days ago but it turns out I did need to wait a little as I really wanted to finish my current book before starting the next (I have too many books I’m “also reading” right now as it is.)

But I’m caught up now and I’ve opened up my lovely, new ebook edition and read the introduction by Garth Nix. Even that, I found fascinating as his “best of the best” list of favourite Diana Wynne Jones books is almost exactly the same as mine.

  • Power of Three
  • Archer’s Goon
  • Dogsbody
  • Eight Days of Luke
  • Charmed Life
  • Enchanted Glass
  • Howl’s Moving Castle
  • Fire and Hemlock

I haven’t had a chance to read Charmed Life yet, so I can’t say if that will be a favourite or not, and I’ve only read Enchanted Glass once (and it was, well, enchanting), but otherwise, we’re in bang-on agreement.

Co-incidence being what it is, the book I wanted to finish before starting was A Confusion of Princes, which is Garth Nix’s latest book, so I’m feeling suitably in balance with the universe right now and looking forward to seeing how I find Fire and Hemlock when I reread it with older eyes.

(I don’t think I’ve read it since it first came out and I was 15 back in 1984, so it’s going to be much older eyes!)

Onward!

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Kristen M. on 19th April, 2012 at 8:28 am

    The one thing I would like to get the new version for is the Garth Nix intro! I haven’t read Power of Three or Archer’s Goon yet but the others are definitely favorites.

    I’ve just finished my Tam Lin readings and am writing about them today. Then I’ll start reading about Thomas the Rhymer and then probably next week get to Fire and Hemlock. It’s been a really interesting journey so far!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

