Welcome to 2012

I made the decision, several years ago, not to make New Year’s resolutions. With my unpredictable health, I never know what I’ll be able to manage and what I won’t. So I try to go with the flow and do what I can. Last year, I carried that over to my reading as well. In 2010, I signed up for several book challenges, and while it was fun, it was also occasionally a nagging requirement. So last year I didn’t make any commitments at all, beyond my self-set Author Reads, which are allowed to take as long as they take.

I admit however, that I did keep a spreadsheet of what I bought and what I read. I kept it private and for myself, although I did try to record what I read on here. As you’ve probably noticed, I didn’t always manage it. I’ve felt I can’t post a finish here if I don’t say something about it, and often it’s all I can do to read the book, let along marshall coherent thoughts about what I thought of it.

So for the record, in 2011 I read 100 books and 28 shorter stories, making a total of 128. I don’t know if I should write down how many books I bought in case Dave reads this. (<whisper>It was 298.</whisper>)

Goodreads provides a very nice visual picture of the year’s reading statistics. The total number doesn’t match mine because it includes books I officially didn’t finish (those are the ones with 0 stars – I had 6 of them this year) and doesn’t include all the shorts since they’re not all available on the Goodreads site. All the same, it’s a good overall view (click to enlarge).

There were 20 books I rated as 10/10 (5 stars in the image above). Of those 12 were new reads and 8 were rereads. I’m happy with that balance. While I definitely need to buy fewer new books, I really enjoy going back to an old favourite and loving it all over again.

Now, let’s see what 2012 holds. I’m hoping to reread more old favorites. More and more are being released as ebooks (often as they authors of my favourite books for the 80s get their rights back or choose to self-publish electronically since they never sold those rights) and that makes rereading them so much easier.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Congrats on reaching 100 books and 28 novellas! (And LOL WRT the books bought. IMHO it sets you up well for 2012 🙂

    All the best for 2012!

    Reply

  2. You enjoyed the majority of the books you read and you read a phenomenal amount of books! That averages to one every three days! I count that as a win in anyone’s book 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

