What I’ve Been Reading

I’m just not feeling up to writing much about anything at the moment, as much as I’ve enjoyed the books I’ve read lately. So I’m going to cheat and do a short, combined post instead of giving a separate entry for each book.

Which Witch? by Eva Ibbotson

Magic Graves by Jeaniene Frost and Ilona Andrews

The Black Moth by Georgette Heyer

Crystal Dragon by Sharon Lee and Steve Miller

The Annotated Firebird: Firebird, Fusion Fire & Crown of Fire by Kathy Tyers

Thunder on the Right by Mary Stewart

While I stopped reading Which Witch? with Marcus because he decided he “didn’t like witches”, I had been enjoying the story enough that I finished it for myself, but I don’t think I ever actually recorded that here. It was clearly a story for children, but a fun one all the same. I’m finding I’m enjoying Eva Ibbotson’s children’s books as much as her books for adults, if in a totally different way, and I shall continue with my Author Read at whatever speed suits me.

The Jeaniene Frost story in Magic Graves was a short Cat and Bones story that was perfectly enjoyable, but fairly minor. I enjoyed reading it (and loved Cat’s quote about loving Bones for teaching her mother to stab him) but it wouldn’t have mattered really if I hadn’t.

With 52 books ahead of me, reading Georgette’s Heyer first book, The Black Moth, is a small beginning. I hadn’t read it before and I enjoyed it. It didn’t have the polish of Heyer’s later books that I’ve read, but her voice and wit were there already in this early work. It’s going to take me years to read all her books, but it’s a challenge I’m sure I’ll enjoy.

My reread of Sharon Lee and Steve Miller’s Liaden series continues with Crystal Dragon. I took a break in the middle of this one, but loved it once I got back to it. I do love this series and will continue reading it. As much as I want to read the new one, Ghost Ship, I’ve realised that I really don’t remember a lot of details of the series, so I’m going to stick with my reread and just enjoy Ghost Ship when I finally get to it.

As I said in my post about the series, I was totally delighted to find Kathy Tyer’s Firebird books rereleased and available for Kindle. I read my way through the trilogy in about a week, loving the first one, Firebird, all over again and finding the second, Fusion Fire to be a better read than I remembered. The final book, Crown of Fire, I had never read and I found it filled out the sequence very nicely. I now have the next book, Wind and Shadow on my Kindle and I shall enjoy reading about the next generation when I get to it, although I’m going to take a bit of a break to start fresh again when I read the new one.

After all the Firebird books, I found I wanted a break from SF (and I haven’t been in a fantasy mood lately) so I got back to my Mary Stewart Author Read with Thunder on the Right. It was weird to start a Mary Stewart book and find it wasn’t written in the first person. I got used to it, but every now and then it surprised me all over again. It’s a nice story. The mystery is relatively predictable, but it is well told and the description and sense of place is lovely.

I couldn’t decide what to read next, so resorted to using the random number generator on the 18 books in my “Next” folder on my Kindle. That chose Catherine Asaro’s novella, The City of Cries for me. One of her few works I’ve never read, I’m looking forward to it. I have the next Skolian novel, Carnelians, also in the “Next” folder, but I’m always kind of scared before starting a new Skolian book, so maybe the novella will let me work up to it slowly.

6 responses to this post.

  1. I think a combined post is very sensible 🙂 Oh, and it tells me you’ve been reading lots of interesting books *grin* Although now that I’ve seen the post date I realize it was last month 😦 I haven’t been online in soooo long!

    Hope the reading this month is going well?

    Reply

  2. […] READ Own in paper, […]

    Reply

  3. […] Georgette – The Black Moth […]

    Reply

  4. […] Annotated Firebird: Firebird, Fusion Fire and Crown of Fire, The – Kathy Tyers (9/10) (written before reading) […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

