Started, Blood Law

As I said is an earlier post today, I discovered this author through a couple of degrees of social networking. My husband knows her husband in a work capacity (although living on opposite sides of the world) and my husband shared on her husband’s post about his wife and her books. From there, I asked him about the connection, looked up the books and thought the first one could well be my kind of read. At 3/4 through the Kindle sample I was impressed enough to use the “Buy this book” option to get the whole thing. I’m only in the first chapter at the moment (there was also a prologue) but I’m enjoying the voice and the tone. Hooray for Google+ helping me find a new book and author to try.

Blood Law

To stop a vampire killer, she’ll have to slay her own demons first.

A provocative and savvy vampire, Alexandra Sabian moves to the sleepy hamlet of Jefferson, Mississippi—population 6,000, half vampires—to escape the demons lurking in her past. As an enforcer for the Federal Bureau of Preternatural Investigations (FBPI), Alex must maintain the uneasy peace between her kind and humans, including Jefferson’s bigoted sheriff, who’d be happy to see all vampires banished from town. Then really dead vamps start turning up—beheaded, crucified, and defanged, the same gruesome manner in which Alex’s father was murdered decades ago. For Alex, the professional has become way too personal.

Things get even more complicated when the FBPI sends in some unnervingly sexy backup: Alex’s onetime mentor, lover, and fiancé, Varik Baudelaire. Still stinging from the betrayal that ended their short-lived engagement, Alex is determined not to give in to the temptation that soon threatens to short-circuit her investigation. But as the vamp body count grows and the public panic level rises, Varik may be Alex’s only hope to stop a relentless killer who’s got his own score to settle and his own bloody past to put right.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Well add an extra degree 🙂 That sounds ust like the right sort of book for mum, and I trust your level of judgement for a well-written book so I’ve just ordered the paperback for her 🙂

    Reply

  2. I’m almost 3/4 done now and I’m enjoying it. There is some significant racial hatred aginst the vampires that I’ve found a little uncomfortable, because it is well-written (rather than the reverse). But yes, an excellent discovery and I plan to buy the next one as soon as the budget allows.

    Reply

  3. […] I said in my “Started” post for this book, I discovered Jeannie Holmes through a couple of degrees of social networking (and […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

