DWJ March: The Chronicles of Chrestomanci

Jones, Diana Wynne - Chrestomanci 03 - Witch Week

My (ex-library) copy of Witch Week

I’m still catching up on Kristen M.’s DWJ March posts. Today, my intention is to do all the March promts (you can find them here). Whether I will actually manage it, especially as I’m going to be doing the single parent thing for the next two weeks, remains to be seen, but I’ll do what I can.

I’ve only read one book in this series, Witch Week (and here’s another old school cover), although I have always intended to read more. My Author Reads has dried up lately, but I haven’t given up, so my plan is to get through more books in the series at some point.

It’s a very long time since I read Witch Week, but I do remember enjoying it. Coming to it cold, without having read any of the other Chrestomanci books, it was another one of those mind-bending books that starts off seeming to be something ordinary and quickly switches on the reader.

Not having read more of the books, I’m afraid I can’t say much more for this prompt, but it’s nice to know I have plenty more in the series to get to reading.

I’ll go downstairs tomorrow when it’s daylight to take a photo of my paper collection of DWJ books.

3 responses to this post.

  1. I love Witch Week the best of the Chrestomanci books — nothing to do with the smallness of Chrestomanci’s role (I love him, obviously), but just that i cannot resist a boarding school book. I also thought it weirdly had a lot of good insights.

    Reply

  2. This is actually a fun cover for this one. It would have drawn me in as a kid. I think I would have liked it slightly better as a kid too. I like it now but, as a parent, I find myself more sensitive to bratty or bullying kids.

    Reply

  3. ‘Witch Week’ has never been my favourite of the Chrestomanci books, partly because of Charles (I much prefer Nan and Estelle). I remember that cover, though! I think it’s by ‘Ionicus’ who I think did a lot of PG Wodehouse covers for Penguin.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

