New Book, Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops

I bought a book on a whim today. One that I didn’t already know about and hadn’t preordered. One that I didn’t look at, think “hmm, interesting” and put it on a wishlist. No, I actually bought it.

There’s a question that seems to come up a lot these days – how do you find out about new books? For me, there are two main avenues. The first is that the book is by an author I already know and follow in some fashion (even if just to recognise their name on an “upcoming release dates” post I see somewhere else). Hooray, a new book by Author X and it goes on preorder, or the “to buy” list or the “I don’t know if I want it but I don’t want to forget about it” list.

The second is to see something recommended on a blog I follow. If I trust the blogger and think the book itself looks interesting, I’ll investigate further. Usually I’ll decide to let the book pass me by, or I’ll put it on a wishlist as a way to remember it later. But sometimes, I’ll buy, and that’s what I did today.

This on can be blamed on Simon from Savidge Reads. He featured this on his blog today and after finding myself smiling at his examples, I popped over to Amazon and bought it. I understand what he was saying in his post, wondering if laughing at some of the examples when we might say such things ourselves was being a bit mean. But from his examples (I haven’t actually started the book yet), it seems to me that it is more a case of smiling with someone rather than laughing at them. I hope so anyway, as it does look like a fun book.

I am determined to finish The Kingdom of Gods first (especially since Mira Grant’s Blackout comes out tomorrow night), but I’m looking forward to having this one to read for some light and fun reading after a couple of serious books.

Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops

Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops
Jen Campbell

From the hugely popular blog, a miscellany of hilarious and peculiar bookshop moments:
‘Can books conduct electricity?’
‘My children are just climbing your bookshelves: that’s ok… isn’t it?’

A John Cleese Twitter question ['What is your pet peeve?'], first sparked the ‘Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops’ blog, which grew over three years into one bookseller’s collection of ridiculous conversations on the shop floor. From ‘Did Beatrix Potter ever write a book about dinosaurs?’ to the hunt for a paperback which could forecast the next year’s weather; and from ‘I’ve forgotten my glasses, please read me the first chapter’ to’Excuse me… is this book edible?’

This full-length collection illustrated by the Brothers McLeod also includes top ‘Weird Things’ from bookshops around the world.

(Blurb from Goodreads.com)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

